64.9 F
Rye
Sunday, September 19, 2021
Home Government City of Rye Letters of Pride: Lisa Dominici, Rye Youth Council

Letters of Pride: Lisa Dominici, Rye Youth Council

MyRye.com is publishing a series of letters of support for raising the Pride flag on City flagpoles. The letters were sent to the City ahead of the City Council voting to fly the flag, and are a matter of public record.

PRIDE flag

From: Lisa Dominici

Subject: In Support of Raising the Pride Flag in June

Date: April 20, 2021 at 3:12:18 PM EDT

To: “Cohn, Josh” <jcohn@ryeny.gov>, “Souza, Julie A.” <jsouza@ryeny.gov>, “Stacks, Benjamin M.” <bstacks@ryeny.gov>, <sgoddard@ryeny.gov>,<rmecca@ryeny.gov>, <ptarlow@ryeny.gov>, “Johnson, Carolina J.”<cjohnson@ryeny.gov>

Dear Mayor Cohn and Council Members Goddard, Johnson, Mecca, Souza, Stacks and Tarlow:

I am writing in support of the City of Rye raising a Pride flag in observance of WorldPride month this and every June. The Pride flag raising is an important and visible way that we can show acceptance and inclusion towards the LGBTQ+ community here in Rye, and that everyone — regardless of their sexual orientation — feels welcome when they are in our City. It is important that we, as a City, have a strong and visible show of support for the LGBTQ+ youth and community by raising the Rainbow Flag on our City flag pole.

The LGBTQ+ community continues to have to work for respect, equality and their very right to exist. While progress has been made, members of the LGBTQ+ community in the United States and around the world still face an unacceptable level of discrimination and violence.

Teens who identify as gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgender have long been targets of stigma, bullying and harassment, and this dynamic can lead to adverse mental health effects.

Did you know ….

LGBTQ+ teens are six times more likely to experience symptoms of depression than non-LGBTQ+ identifying teens.

LGBTQ+ youth are more than twice as likely to feel suicidal and over four times as likely to attempt suicide compared to heterosexual youth.

Forty-eight percent of transgender adults report that they have considered suicide in the last year, compared to 4 percent of the overall US population.

Let’s create an environment in Rye that makes ALL of its residents-and everyone who visits our community-feel supported, safe, and included. Let’s have the City of Rye be among the proud and just communities — including Westchester County itself — that join together in raising the Pride flag during the month of June.

Sincerely, Lisa Dominici

Executive Director, Rye Youth Council

On behalf of the Board and Staff of the Rye Youth Council

1 COMMENT

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here