64.9 F
Rye
Monday, December 5, 2022
Home Government City of Rye Letters of Pride: Josh Nathan, Former Board of Education Member

Letters of Pride: Josh Nathan, Former Board of Education Member

MyRye.com is publishing a series of letters of support for raising the Pride flag on City flagpoles. The letters were sent to the City ahead of the City Council voting to fly the flag, and are a matter of public record.

Raising the Price flag at the City of Rye flagpole at Rye Recreation on June 1, 2021.
Raising the Price flag at the City of Rye flagpole at Rye Recreation on June 1, 2021.

From: “Joshua C. Nathan” <joshuacnathan@gmail.com>

Subject: Letter: The City of Rye should fly the Pride flag in June to show the City’s recognition of Pride month

Date: April 27, 2021 at 12:47:20 PM EDT

To: “Cohn, Josh” <jcohn@ryeny.gov>, “Mecca, Richard J.”<rmecca@ryeny.gov>, “Goddard, Sara W.” <sgoddard@ryeny.gov>, “Johnson, Carolina J.” <cjohnson@ryeny.gov>, “Stacks, Benjamin M.”<bstacks@ryeny.gov>, “Souza, Julie A.” <jsouza@ryeny.gov>, “Tarlow, Pam J.”<ptarlow@ryeny.gov>

Dear Mayor Cohen, Deputy Mayor and Council Member Mecca, and Council Members Goddard, Johnson, Stacks, Souza, and Tarlow:

I watched your April 21, 2021 discussion about whether legal issues could possibly come up at some point in the future if the City raises the Pride flag to show Rye’s recognition of June as LGBTQ+ Pride month. The question has been before you for nearly a year. Please don’t let your analysis continue to delay or stop you from doing the right thing.

Last year the City (by your vote) did the right thing by recognizing Pride month. Now we should show it this June by flying the Pride flag; just as communities throughout Westchester County, New York State, and the Nation, as well as US Embassies around the globe will be doing.

Rye’s LGBTQ+ community, and especially Rye’s LGBTQ+ youth, should feel the same sense of support and belonging that so many here enjoy, particularly given the adversity they continue to encounter beyond Rye. The longer this matter gets dragged out, the less genuine Rye’s recognition of Pride month becomes and the more painful it is for the very people we as a community are intending to make feel good.

Please fly the Pride flag in June to show the City’s recognition of Pride month. Very truly yours,

-Josh Nathan

Hillside Place

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here